Kissaa Kahaani

July 1, 2011

The Brand New Father

There he was walking towards me just past the hospital, eyes on the traffic zooming past him and and mind dwelling some where else. My own eyes were not taking in the traffic but were absorbing the sight of him on the side walk. I was in a gloomy mood, these twice a week visit to Leelavati Hospital make me loose my tempo and depress me. He was a handsome man and captivating. His disheveled appearance did nothing to reduce the boyish charm, in fact it made him look more vulnerable and disarming; his thick black hair was tumbling over his eyes, his tie loosened with his collar button undone and sleeved rolled up, his shirt was wrinkled and half tucked in and half tucked out. He was walking with his hands in his pocket and spring in his step. His whole demeanor was a happy one, and made me smile. He lifted his head and looked up at me, I sighed- there was nothing else i could do- His grin was sudden and so electrifying. He was just a few feet away from me, he just laughed, came to me and hugged me tightly, “Congratulate me, I am a brand new father”, he released me and looked down at me and smiled and walked away and i stood there marveling at him and the way he made me, a stranger, a part of his life, the way he shared his joy with me. I met a stranger who gifted me with happiness….

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

